Monday, September 26, 2011

Country Favorites

Don't let the generic cover of this record fool you. Every song on this one is worth a listen. It doesn't say anywhere on the sleeve or label, but this is a repackaging of 9 early singles from the Houston-based D label. Bear Family has most of the catalog from the label on their massive 24-disc set. All of these songs can be found on those discs except the tracks by George Jones (which was on Mercury) and Margie Singleton. Hers was the 7th single put out by the label in 1958. The b-side is on the Bear Family box set, but curiously not the a-side. Well here it is, and it's a fine track.

By the way, for those who don't know about the Rockhall Forum, I'd register yourself, because all 24 discs of the D box set are posted there, although some of the files are missing. Here's a link.

I Want To Be Where You're Gonna Be

Wyncote 9016
Year compilation was issued: 1964

1. George Jones - Don't Stop The Music (Mercury 71029)
2. Claude Gray - Leave Alone (D 1144)
3. Country Johnny Mathis - Run Please Run (D 1078)
4. Jimmy & Johnny - Keep Telling Me (D 1004)
5. Bill Mack - Waiting For The River To Rise (D 1176)
6. Margie Singleton - I Want To Be Where You're Gonna Be (D 1007)
7. Cecil Bowman - Lay Your Hoe Down (D 1205)
8. Billy Western - His And Hers (D 1239)
9. Tony Douglas - World In My Arms (D 1005)
10. Leon Payne - Blue Side Of Lonesome (D 1150)

Click here to --->>>Download

No comments: